Swiss Battery Days 2024

August 26-28 2024


Empa, PSI, and the Swiss Battery Association iBAT jointly organize the 6th edition of the Swiss Battery Days taking place on August 26-28 at ETH Zurich. The aim of this event is to provide young researchers, active in the field of battery materials research and cell manufacturing, a platform to present their results and to connect to renowned battery researchers from Europe and beyond. The event offers a unique opportunity to strengthen and expand the network to the Swiss battery community. The scope of the event ranges from the synthesis and characterization of battery materials to their integration into electrodes and cells, including topics related to cell manufacturing. August 28 is reserved for talks on aspects of industrial sodium-ion and redox flow battery manufacturing and local battery startups.



ETH Zurich, Scherrer Auditorium, Gloriastrasse 35, 8092 Zurich


Important dates

May 1 2024 Registration opening

May 1 2024 Abstract submission opening

June 30 2024 Abstract submission closing

July 19 2024 Notification abstract acceptance

August 18 2024 Registration closing

August 26-28 2024 Swiss Battery Days





Dr. David Reber, Empa (chair)

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL (co-chair)

Dr. Sigita Trabesinger, Paul Scherrer Institute (vice chair)


Local organizing committee

Dr. David Reber, Empa

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL

Daniela Isler-Schmid, Empa

Nadine Rieder, Empa


Scientific committee

Dr. David Reber, Empa

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL

Dr. Sigita Trabesinger, Paul Scherrer Institute

Dr. Mario El Kazzi, Paul Scherrer Institute


International advisory board

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Zeier, University of Münster, Germany

Prof. Dr. Julia Maibach, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Ingo Krossing, Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg, Germany

Prof. Dr. Erik J. Berg, Uppsala University, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Alejandro A. Franco, University of Picardie Jules Vernes, France


Confirmed invited speakers

Prof. Dr. Sir Stanley Wittingham, Binghamton University, NY, USA

Prof. Dr. Y. Shirley Meng, University of Chicago & Argon National Laboratory, IL, USA

Dr. Kang Xu, SES AI, MA, USA

Prof. Dr. Philipp Adelhelm, Humboldt-Universität Berlin & Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Emmanuel Baudrin, Université de Picardie Jules Verne & CNRS, France 

Prof. Dr. Jelena Popovic-Neuber, University of Stavanger, Norway

Prof. Dr. Kristina Edström, Uppsala University & Battery2030+, Uppsala, Sweden


Confirmed industry speakers

Dr. Alasdair Robertson, Materials R&D Manager Invinity Energy Systems

Tom Gebauer, CEO Redox One

Dr. John Alper, Head of R&D VoltStorage

Dr. Mathieu Morcrette, CTO Tiamat

Dr. Minglong He, Principal Scientist ABB

Richard Bouveret, CEO Blue Solutions

Dr. Moritz Futscher, CEO BTRY

Dr. Clara Moldovan, CEO Swistor

Dr. Paul Baade, CEO EightInks

Dr. David Taylor, CEO Unbound Potential












Friends and sponsors